Press enter to see results or esc to cancel.

Annapurna Mountains Facts for Kids

Gathered by: T.Price

  • Annapurna is a section of the Himalayas in north-central Nepal that includes 26,545 ft Annapurna I, thirteen additional peaks over 22,970 ft and 16 more over 19,690 ft.
  • Annapurna I is tenth among Earth’s fourteen eight-thousanders.
  • Annapurna is a Sanskrit name which literally means “full of food” (feminine form), but is normally translated as Goddess of the Harvests.
  • The entire massif and surrounding area are protected within the 7,629 km Annapurna Conservation Area, the first and largest conservation area in Nepal.
  • The Annapurna peaks are among the world’s most dangerous mountains to climb, although in more recent history, using figures from only 1990 and after, Kangchenjunga has a higher fatality rate.
  • As of the end of 2009, there had been 157 summit ascents of Annapurna I, and 60 climbing fatalities on the mountain.
  • This fatality-to-summit ratio (38%) is the highest of any of the eight-thousanders.
  • Maurice Herzog and Louis Lachenal, of a French expedition led by Maurice Herzog (including Lionel Terray, Gaston Rébuffat, Marcel Ichac, Jean Couzy, Marcel Schatz, Jacques Oudot, Francis de Noyelle), reached the summit on 3 June 1950.
  • (See the documentary of the expedition “Victoire sur l’Annapurna” by Marcel Ichac).
  • Its summit was the highest summit attained on Earth for three years, until the first successful ascent of Mount Everest.
  • The south face of Annapurna was first climbed in 1970 by Don Whillans and Dougal Haston, members of a British expedition led by Chris Bonington which included the alpinist Ian Clough, who was killed by a falling serac during the descent.
  • Climbers killed on the peak include Russian Anatoli Boukreev in 1997, Spaniard Iñaki Ochoa in 2008, and Korean Park Young-seok, lost in 2011.
  • Annapurna IV, near Annapurna II, was first climbed in 1955 by a German expedition led by Heinz Steinmetz via the North Face and Northwest Ridge.
  • Hiunchuli (21,126 ft) is a satellite peak extending east from Annapurna South, Hiunchuli was first climbed in 1971 by an expedition led by U.S. Peace Corps Volunteer Craig Anderson.
  • Machapuchare (22,943 ft) is another important peak though it just misses the 7,000 metre mark.
  • There are three major trekking routes in the Annapurna region: the Jomson Trek to Jomsom and Muktinath (increasingly disturbed by a road-building project); the Annapurna Sanctuary route to Annapurna base camp; and the Annapurna Circuit, which circles the Annapurna Himal itself and includes the Jomsom route.
  • The town of Pokhara usually serves as a starting point for these treks, and is also a good starting place for other short treks of one to four days, such as routes to Ghorepani or Ghandruk.
TFR Fact Check: Click Here To Suggest Edits To This Resource
Share with your friends